Add a subject to your cityscape images

Hi everyone, I hope you had a great week.

Today I want to share with you something cool that happened to me during holidays season…

As you know I live in London and throught out the year, its a beautiful city, however during the holidays season, it becomes a lot more iluminated and beautiful, as I have a very soft spot for lights and night photography, Me and my wife and son went for a nice walk.

Of course, I was ready to capture some lights, but there was a particular image that for the first couple of seconds of shooting, I wasn’t very happy. I’ll explain!

There I was with my camera all setup on my trusty tripod, remote trigger in my hand ready to shoot until a gentleman stops in front of me playing with his phone. Well, even that I didn’t want him on my image, I started taking my set of bracketed images, so I could see if I had the right settings and if the composition was as I visualized.

All was good and he kept walking in front of me, then he stopped, maybe he was on Twitter    Talking about me, or just checking is Facebook feed, but as I saw him a bit still, I had the idea of including him on the image, so I started shooting and thinking to myself”please, don’t move”.

Well, he did move a bit but I got the sequence of brackets, and to be honest, as soon as I started processing the images, I realized that thanks to him, I had created a more compelling image.

So, here is my advice, if this happens to you, don’t give up, start taking some photos, even if someone is walking in front of you, it may help you create a rather more pleasing image 😉

I hope this post inspires you!

Have a fantastic Weekend,

Miguel

2 thoughts on “Add a subject to your cityscape images

Leave a Reply

